We’re very excited to share with you our plans for our upcoming fourth season. You can view our full performance calendar here.

Season Highlights:

October 5: “Celebrations!”

We open our series with the theme of “Celebrations.”  Honoring the 50th birthday of our dear friend Augusta Read Thomas, we feature her wonderful trio, Dancing Helix Rituals.  To celebrate of Richard Strauss’ 150th birthday, we are delighted to showcase Franz Hasenoehrl’s chamber arrangement of his tone poem, Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks.  We also will present the musical “power couple,” composer Roshanne Etezady and her husband, the fantastic saxophonist Tim McAllister.  Come early and join us for Augusta’s pre-concert talk at 2pm and stay for the post-concert reception in Foreman Hall.

November 9: Recital at Valparaiso University

To kick off our residency at Valparaiso University, we will present a program focusing on composers with Eastern European/Slavic roots: Weiner, Khachaturian, Szymanowski, and Bartók. The countries represented here have been producing exceptional composers for centuries and the composers’ unique style of combining classical tradition and folk influence marked the genre of Nationalism.
March 15: All-Chinese Program

We are honored to present two world premieres at our winter concert, including Yao Chen’s composition for Civitas and Pipa, which was supported with an award from the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University. Our other world premiere of the afternoon is a five-movement work by Zhou Long, which also was written with Civitas in mind.  In addition to the beautiful music making, the visual elements of this concert will enhance your sonic experience.

This special concert will be co-presented by Civitas Ensemble and the Chinese Fine Arts Society.

May 31: “Night in Vienna”

Historically one of the most important music capitals of the western classical music tradition, Vienna has been the home to some of the world’s most beloved composers.  We will take you on a trip starting with a work by Rabl, the first piece ever written for our combination of instruments, followed by Berg’s immensely engrossing Adagio, originally from his Chamber Concerto, and finishing the season with the indomitable “Trout” Quintet of Schubert.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar